Observed October 8, 2026

The control plane is ready. The first approval needs a shorter runway.

This public mini teardown follows Futex from its Show HN landing page through the free-key instructions, agent setup guide, and public API reference on desktop and a 390-pixel mobile viewport.

Scope and independence

This is an unsolicited, unpaid sample—not an endorsement, security test, accessibility certification, or claim about measured conversion impact. RODMENA did not commission or approve it before publication.

What already works

The landing page makes a technical category unusually legible.

Observed: The first screen names the job, architecture, and two next steps. The feature, sequence, setup, API, health, readiness, company, privacy, and terms routes are publicly reachable.

Responsive check: The landing page held a 390-pixel viewport without document-level horizontal overflow. The headline and both primary actions fit the viewport, and the public health and readiness routes returned successful responses during the check.

Prioritized findings

Three fixes between interest and a first completed approval.

High priority · Reproduced

The no-signup key still starts with a manual email task.

Observed: The homepage and /claude both print futex-freepass@mail.rodmena.co.uk as plain text. Neither retrieved page contains a mailto: action. On mobile, an evaluator must select or remember the address, leave the page, compose a message, and return before setup can begin.

Why it matters: The highest-intent promise is “Free key—no signup, no dashboard,” but the first action is less direct than a conventional signup button.

Change: Add “Email me a free key” and “Copy address” actions beside the address, with the email subject prefilled.

Acceptance check: A signed-out mobile visitor can begin the key request with one tap and return to the same setup step.

High priority · Measured

The first-success path competes with the full operating manual.

Observed: “Set Up Your Agent” leads to an approximately 1,974-word setup page. The linked Swagger reference contains 50 operations across 39 paths, with no declared tags, so evaluator, tenant-admin, reviewer, webhook, and platform operations appear in one “default” section.

Why it matters: A developer who only wants to prove one human approval must determine which small subset of a production control plane matters before seeing value.

Change: Put a three-step “first approval” lane above the complete guide: obtain key, run one copyable request, open one review and inspect the result. Group the reference by evaluator, operator, reviewer, and platform duties.

Acceptance check: A new evaluator can identify the exact first request and expected response without scanning unrelated administration endpoints.

Medium priority · Observed

The free promise omits its visible boundary.

Observed: The landing page calls the key free but does not state a quota, retention period, expiry, or upgrade route in visible copy. The OpenAPI description mentions a monthly decision quota and GET /v1/usage, but it does not state the allowance.

Why it matters: An evaluator cannot tell whether the free key is a short demo, a durable development tier, or enough for a pilot before submitting an email address.

Change: Put the decision allowance, key lifetime, data-retention boundary, and next commercial step directly beside the free-key action.

Acceptance check: The landing page alone answers “How much can I test, for how long, and what happens when I reach the limit?”

First-success block

Make one approval feel smaller than the platform.

Heading Run your first human approval in three steps Step 1 Get a free key — no account or dashboard. [Email me a key] [Copy address] Step 2 Copy one agent command to request a sample deployment approval. Step 3 Open the secure review link, decide, and watch the agent receive the result. Boundary line Free tier: [decision allowance] · [key lifetime] · [retention] · Check live usage any time
Evidence links

Recheck the source before shipping.

Public pages can change. These observations describe pages retrieved on October 8, 2026. No key was requested, no account was created, and no authenticated endpoint was tested.

Request a private full teardown for $49